When the Enemy Strikes but VICTORY Prevails!

John 10:10 “The thief only comes to steal, kill and destroy. I came that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.”

We all have those days, those weeks, and those seasons when we feel the enemy closer than we’d like him to be. I was asked the other day what my long term goal was for enhancing the Kingdom – what my goal is for my ministry.  In the moment, I honestly answered, that I’m doing exactly what I believe I’m called to do.

“I’m an Administrator in Christian education. I’m shaping the minds of the next generation.  I’m on the mission field, right here at home!  I’m reaching the mission field that is in my neighborhood!  I’m doing exactly what I feel called to do and plan on continuing with it!”

I then countered that question to the person who had asked me. Their answer – “I’m just open to wherever God leads. I know I’m where I’m supposed to be now but my goal for my ministry is simply to follow God’s lead. My goal is to die to myself every single day so that I simply can be used by Him.” 

Mic drop!

I was blown away by the response and have been rethinking my ministry goal ever since. I absolutely do believe that I’m exactly where God wants me now but does that mean I’m supposed to be here forever???  I don’t know.  I felt extremely convicted after that conversation and wondered if I was so zoned in on what I’m doing now that I can’t clearly see what might lie ahead or even hear that soft calling if I’m led elsewhere.  I do know one thing for sure; I can feel the ugly enemy lingering around me which means I must be doing something right!

John 10:10 says, “The thief only comes to steal, kill and destroy” and let me tell you, I’ve seen a lot of it lately. I’ve seen him steal my joy, kill my confidence and destroy my mindset.  I started this school year with so much excitement and anticipation about what God was doing in and through us as educators.  I was eager to lead a team of women who were passionate about winning little hearts for the kingdom and I couldn’t wait to build relationships with parents and families that don’t know Christ, showing His love to everyone that crossed my path.  I presented new ideas to my staff with passion, enthusiasm and excitement!  Do you know what happened next? The enemy struck.  Within the first week of the new school year, I was attacked, my character was assaulted and the enemy was able to steal my exuberance by way of distraction.   Satan is the Master of Distraction, we know this – we have been warned – so why does it always come as such a surprise?

In Ephesians, we are told to “put on the whole armor of God “…why?…”so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” It’s so difficult to see clearly what is happening when you’re in the middle of a situation.  If you step back, reevaluate and worship instead of worry, the picture becomes so much clearer!  We are in the world but we are not of the world so the logic given to use by the world, just doesn’t make sense for believers.  We must abandon common sense, common knowledge, reasoning and past experience.  Instead, we must trust and simply allow the Spirit to lead, claiming VICTORY throughout the whole journey.

 

James 4:7 “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you”. – VICTORY

1 John 3:8 – “The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the works of the devil.” – VICTORY

Ephesians 6:16 – “In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one.” – VICTORY

Romans 5:8 – “But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – VICTORY

2 Thessalonians 3:3 – “But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.” – VICTORY

 

When you look at circumstances with Spiritual eyes, it’s so much easier. I don’t know if I’m in the area of ministry that I will be in forever but I do know I’m supposed to be here now.  I also know that I need to be focused and mindful of my current position but open to God’s leading and promptings as they occur in case he leads elsewhere.  I also know that if I’m feeling attack or the enemy lingering, I’m clearly on the right path.

When he’s close it simply means I’m doing something right…you’re doing something right…we’re doing something right, so hold on…victory lies ahead!

 

Leave a comment